top of page


The South Dakota Parkinson Foundation is dedicated to improving the quality of life for people touched by Parkinson’s disease.



The South Dakota Parkinson Foundation is a group of dedicated and passionate volunteers that are committed to helping and supporting our members with a unique and very personal touch. What started as a small support group formed at Sioux Valley Hospital in Sioux Falls has evolved into a state-wide organization that is focused on improving the quality of life of those that have been affected by Parkinson’s disease.


Parkinson’s disease touches nearly one million people in the United States alone. While a cure has yet to be found, there are several ways to treat and slow the effects of the disease. Our organization exists to provide people with Parkinson’s and their families, friends and healthcare professionals with education and support. This includes providing various programs and services, along with raising awareness of the disease and the affect it has on the lives that it touches. 


Though much has changed over the years and will continue to change in keeping with needs and developments, this service organization has always been, and remains, strongly rooted in a tradition of caring.  If this sounds like you or someone you know or if someone you are close to has been affected with this life-changing disease and you would like to help, get in touch with us. It only takes a bit of time and energy to make a big difference in someone’s life.

Our Mission

By your side, ready to help. 

Board of Directors

Deborah Herrboldt, President
Stephanie Myers, Vice President

Noel Lais, Treasurer

Katlin Johnson, Secretary

Janey Case, Executive Director

Julie Eggebraaten-Nord, Event Assistant

Renee Lehr, Office Assistant

Board Members:

Kris Ekstrum, Derek Simonsen, Barry Solomon,

Jamie Mentzer, Elizabeth Zemlicka,

Stacie Davis, Rhonda Raue, Dr. Al Nord



Past Board Presidents:
Willis Wibbin (1984-1986), Marilyn Schultz (1986),
Bernice Christopherson, Elaine Spader (2004-2009),
Mary Freeman (2009-2013), Dick Seaman (2014), Lori Jones (2015-2016),

Tony Mau (2017-2019), Jaclyn Schaap (2020), Lisa Howard (2021-2023)

The Friend Award

The Friend Award honors an individual or individuals who selflessly and unrelentingly expend time and effort to assist SDPF with its educational and supportive endeavors. 



2006 – George Niimi

2008 – Jerome Freeman, MD and Jo Landis, RN

2010 – Norma Chesshir

2011 – Elaine, Duane and David Spader

2012 – Redetta Jensen and Bernice Christopherson

2013 – Pat Sundheim

2014 – Mary Freeman

2015 – Wendell & Delores Cook & Carol Nielsen

2016 – Richard Seaman

2018 – Meldon & Linda Kroeger

2019 – Lori Jones

2020 - Lisa Howard & Cherie Ortman

2021 - Noel Lais

2022 - Mary Tidwell

2023 - Paul DeJong

Support Us Today!

bottom of page