LSVT LOUD & BIG

LSVT Loud & Big is a unique approach to speech therapy designed specifically for people with Parkinson's disease or a neurological condition. Its success has lasted for up to at least two years after the therapy treatment.

“Mama” I heard a little girl whisper as I slipped into the pew “There's the story lady!”  It 

was one of my proudest moments…to be known as the “Story Lady”!  I had spent a lot

of time working on my ability to tell stories and she paid me the highest compliment!

 

One thing I miss as my condition deteriorates is the ability to speak clearly and 

meaningfully; the requirements of a good story teller.  Just as my handwriting has 

become very small and cramped the quality of my voice has also decreased measurably.

 

As I meet new people our conversations have become “What?” or “Oh dear, I forgot my hearing aid” and “I don't understand what you said”.  I smile as I meekly and slowly back away from the conversation, and that is a very boring approach to life!

 

I was asked if I would be interested in speech therapy.  It would be a very different approach to speech therapy from what I had in the past. The name is LSVT LOUD.  

 

Simply put: you agree to a highly disciplined course of study, four days a week for a month.  It is a daily hour of hard work; at least I thought talking louder and louder was hard work!  There are a series of exercises to do and material to read out loud; no pausing for coffee or visiting and it actually works!    ~Pat Sundheim, PWP

Want to learn more about LSVT LOUD & BIG? There are several facilities across the state of SD that has certified clinicians. We encourage you to reach out to a facility in your local area.

ABERDEEN


Avera St. Luke’s Hospital 305 S State Street 605-622-5772




BROOKINGS


Brookings Health Systems 300 22nd Avenue 605-696-8821




CANTON


Sanford Canton/Inwood 400 N Hiawatha Drive 605-764-1480

Becky Berentschot, BIG trained

Becky.berentschot@sanfordhealth.org

605-764-1400




HURON


Huron Regional Medical Center 172 4th Street SE 605-352-6253




LUVERNE


Prairie Rehabilitation 106 N Cedar Street 507-449-2003




MITCHELL


Avera Therapy 200 E Havens Avenue 605-995-6374 Driver Assessment & Rehabilitation www.itstherapy.org Becky Weich, OT - LSVT BIG and PwR! certified Becky.Weich@avera.org 605-995-6370 Desiree McIntyre, PTA – LSVT BIG certified Desiree.McIntyre@avera.org 605-995-6370 Taylor Wheeler, OT – PwR! certified Taylor.Wheeler@avera.org 605-995-6370 Kennedy Weiland, ST – LSVT LOUD certified Kennedy.Weiland@avera.org 605-995-6370 Libby Olson, PT – LSVT BIG Libby.Olson@avera.org 605-995-6370




RAPID CITY


RC Regional Rehabilitation Institute 2908 5th Street 605-755-1408




SIOUX FALLS


Avera Outpatient Therapy 1325 S Cliff Avenue 605-322-5150 www.avera.org/therapy Prairie Rehabilitation 1720 S Cliff Avenue 605-334-5630 *Various other PR locations throughout SD & MN that offer these services *Please call for full list Sanford Outpatient Center VanDemark Building 1210 W 18th Street, LL01 605-328-1860 Marybeth.Powell@sanfordhealth.org Sioux Falls VA Medical Center 2501 W 22nd Street 605.336.3230 www.siouxfalls.va.gov

Mary Beth Weisner, PT

LSVT BIG Certified

NDT Trained

Marybeth.weisner@sanfordhealth.org

Jami Dalchow, OTD, OTR/L, SCDCM

AOTA Specialty Certification in Driving & Community Mobility

LSVT BIG certified

Jami.dalchow@sanfordhealth.org

Linda Tyler, MA, CCC-SLP

LSVT LOUD Certified

Linda.tyler@sanfordhealth.org




VIBORG


Pioneer Memorial Hospital 315 N Washington Street 605-326-3009




WATERTOWN


Big Stone Therapies Inc. Eight 5th Street SE 605-995-6044 CaringEdge + Edgewood 901 14th Avenue NE 605-954-4264 Elizabeth.Nutsch@caringedge.com




YANKTON


Avera Sacred Heart Hospital 501 Summit 605-668-8268




MILLER


Avera Hand County Hospital 300 W 5th Street 605-853-0350




CUSTER


Custer Regional Hospital Montgomery Street 605-673-2229




FORT MEADE


Black Hills VA Healthcare System 113 Comanche Road 605-347-7000




PARKER


Parker Medical Clinic Parker Outpatient Therapy 100 E Sanborn Street 605-760-5066




PIERRE


Avera St. Mary's Hospital 801 E Sioux Avenue 605-224-3162




MADISON


Kristen Fox, Certified in LSVT BIG

411 Se 10th Street Ste 103

Madison, SD 57042

605-556-0175

Heather Hagberg, Certified LSVT LOUD Therapist

Madison Regional Hospital

605-256-8915




FREEMAN


Tiffany Stuelpnagel, OT – LSVT BIG certified Tiffany.Stuelpnagel@avera.org 605-995-6370




SCOTLAND


Tiffany Stuelpnagel, OT – LSVT BIG certified Tiffany.Stuelpnagel@avera.org 605-995-6370




PARKSTON


Tiffany Stuelpnagel, OT – LSVT BIG certified Tiffany.Stuelpnagel@avera.org 605-995-6370




PLATTE


Michelle Kemnitz, OT – LSVT BIG Michelle.Kemnitz@avera.org 605-995-6370




ARMOUR


Michelle Kemnitz, OT – LSVT BIG Michelle.Kemnitz@avera.org 605-995-6370




WESSINGTON SPRINGS


Kennedy Weiland, ST – LSVT LOUD certified Kennedy.Weilan@avera.org 605-995-6370 Sue Krutzfeldt, PT – PwR! Sue.Krutzfeldt@avera.org 605-995-6370




DESMET


Kennedy Weiland, ST – LSVT LOUD certified Kennedy.Weiland@avera.org 605-995-6370





By your side, ready to help.

605-271-6113

1000 N West Ave, Suite 220
Sioux Falls, SD 57104

Quick Links

© 2020 by South Dakota Parkinson's Foundation. Created by Amanda Konechne.